History of the Mill

The mill was constructed in 1840 from wormy chestnut wood where it has operated as a gristmill for over 175 years. The original wood water wheel was replaced in 1952 by a 27-foot, 10,000-pound steel wheel that was relocated from Tennessee. The waterfall, fed from springs atop Black Rock Mountain, cascades over one side of the property, overlooking the picturesque and tranquil land of Wolffork Valley.

Today, the mill has been renovated and converted to a charming, romantic bed and breakfast. It offers lovely views of the adjacent valley, the 3,300-foot elevation of Rocky Knob Mountain, and the waterfall running down from the northeast Georgia mountains. Located inside the mill house or the separate guest house, each of the inn's four guest quarters has a private bath and is decorated with its own unique furnishings ranging from a wrought iron bed, to brass beds and antiques, to rustic wood furnishings.

The innkeepers, Mike and Linda Johnson, have owned the mill since 2001 and have enjoyed both running the B&B and learning the craft of milling.   After years in South Florida the couple purchased the Inn and strive to create an atmosphere of comfort and beauty.  Guests have likened their visit to being at a favorite family member's home.  Comfortable, relaxing and refreshing. 

Build a Mobile Website
View Site in Mobile | Classic